Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers install Linux 7.3 using DIsk Druid Post 24438 by PxT on Thursday 11th of July 2002 01:07:30 PM
Old 07-11-2002
/dev/shm is not a real filesystem, it is a shared memory segment used internally by some processes. RH7.3 will create this partition whether you want it or not. (btw, you do want it -- dont remove it unless you know what you are doing)

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Install Solaris on External Firewire Disk

Hello All, I have a laptop running windows 2000 and I have a External Firewire Hard Disk of 60 GB. Now my question is, " Is it possible to install Solaris 8 on this external Firewire Hard Disk". When I tried installing, It did not find the external Firewire Disk, the only partition information,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sanjay92
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Install a new disk - i'm a total novice

Hi, This is the last of my two questions. Unfortunately i'm a total unix/solaris novice and our current solaris project has landed on my lap!! Sorry to bother you all!!! I currently have a solaris 7 system with two IDE disks in it. I need to add a third disk and install another version of... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: AJD
3 Replies

3. Linux

Strange Disk problem on Install

Hello Forum, I am getting a very strange symptom whilst doing an install of CentOS on to an X64 system and I was wondering if anyone else had seen this problem. I have two disks (PATA) installed to IDE0 (master) and the CDROM installed to IDE1 (slave) as a slave device. When I boot up the... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: leenux_tux
0 Replies

4. SCO

Incorrect Disk Partition - New Install SCO 6.0