Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris I may have accidentally redefined one of the outputs... Post 67200 by reborg on Monday 21st of March 2005 06:52:33 PM
Old 03-21-2005
ls -al | grep
will give no output, because it has no pattern to match on.

ls -al | more should work but it may come out incorrectly on screen is you have your TERM environment variable incorrectly defined.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Accidentally deleting directory/files

Hi, I accidentally deleted a big directory with all its sub-directories and bunch of source code files which I have been developing for about 2 years... What will I do now, how can I retrieve my files, directory hierarchy back ??? If anyone, please HELP ! ! ! ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: milhan
4 Replies

2. Solaris

changed shell of the root accidentally

Hi All, I have changed the shell of the root accidentally to /sbin/bash :mad: How do I change that? :( To change that I need to go to ok prompt I think, and there I need to mount the root file system in order to make changes to the respective file. Can any one please suggest how do I do... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pintu_asim
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! Accidentally downloaded .gz file non-binary

Let me start by saying I am at a VERY beginner level in terms of UNIX/FTP/etc. Someone loaded a file onto a server for me and zipped it using gzip. I accidentally downloaded the file without using "binary". I now have a "filename.txt.gz" sitting on my computer that I need to unzip. Is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: UDcc123
2 Replies

4. HP-UX

aCC compiler error - Redefined symbols

I got this error while compiling in aCC compiler. Error 173: "/opt/aCC/include_std/limits", line 694 # Redefined symbol 'numeric_limits<int>'; previously defined at . _RWSTD_SPECIALIZE_LIMITS (bool, int, _RWSTD_BOOL) ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Error... (2 Replies)