Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Permissions issues
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Permissions issues Post 98739 by Perderabo on Friday 10th of February 2006 12:39:59 PM
Old 02-10-2006
Deleting a file requires write permission on the directory that contains it. But overwriting a file needs write permission on the file itself. See Unix File Permissions

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

permissions

I saved a perl code in xemacs. I used an xterminal to execute it but unix said that I don't have permission. I saved the files in my home directory. How do I change the permission. This is hat unix said: -ksh: ./names.pl: cannot execute (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: lnatz
5 Replies

2. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

3. Red Hat

Issues with LDAP user/group permissions on NFS share

I can't seem to make sense of this. $ cat /etc/redhat-release Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.2 Beta (Tikanga) $ $ mount /dev/sda2 on / type ext3 (rw) proc on /proc type proc (rw) sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw) devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620) /dev/sda1 on... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dfinn
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Permissions Issues FTP server

Hi all, Quick question, im going to find this a bit hard to explain but ill give it a go. Basically i have an admin account on an FTP server that i want to be able to control ALL files without having to use sudo (as i need to run cron scripts to move files that are owned by a number of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mokachoka
2 Replies

5. OS X (Apple)

Wordpress & Git, urgent permissions issues, need help...