Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Storage hardware - advice needed Post 90633 by frustrated1 on Thursday 24th of November 2005 04:03:10 PM
Old 11-24-2005
Storage hardware - advice needed

I realise this is an odd request - but I need advice please..

I have two server - in different geographical locations..
The have 2 local 72gb disks which are mirrored. I need to get storage added to increase both to 300gb in total each and this needs to be mirrored in case of failure. The servers are sun fire v240's which only allow for 4 disks in total..

I have 6k budget. Any ideas? Do i need to buy an array for both servers with the extra disks.. if so any ideas how I do this with only 6k?

any advice appreciated --- I am in a jam...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. Solaris

Using San storage - advice needed

Thinking of using our San for network backups.. Have a Netra 240 being installed and planning to get some space on our San. Do you know what software is used to access the San from my server or what I would need to do? I know how to connect to local storage, disk arrays etc but not sure what... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

'for' loop advice needed ....!!

/usr/sbin/ifconfig -a | grep "inet" | grep -v "inet6" | grep -v "127.0.0.1" | grep -v "0.0.0.0"|grep -v "192.168.100.2" | awk '{print $2}' I use above command to get IP addresses on AIX boxes.Values coming here are set to a variable "Host IPs.IP Addresses" in my fingerprinting engine. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ak835
4 Replies