Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Backup suggestions
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Backup suggestions Post 61271 by locustfurnace on Tuesday 1st of February 2005 03:19:57 PM
Old 02-01-2005
rsync
Is an open source utility that provides fast incremental file transfer. rsync is freely available under the GPL.

rsync useage examples.
http://rsync.samba.org/examples.html

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Suggestions on where to begin?

I have been a student at Hendrix Institute for about a year now. My term is comming to an end by the end of december. I have learned varios computer programs for web development that include Flash 5 and Dreamweaver. Actionscripting, Javascript and Database development with Access was all... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: andrew25008
4 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Backup Suggestions.

Hi all, Have two SCO 5.0.5 systems and one Slackware(joy?) system. I've been asked to backup all three systems onto a newly acquired AIT Tape drive that we've installed on one of the SCO boxes. Using the existing cpio backup script on the one SCO works a treat and is really fast (which is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cameron
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Looking for Suggestions...

We run WebSphere and by default it wants to install everything under /usr. While I can understand the default (everyone has a /usr) I would like to move this over to a dedicated volume group called apps and then setup my lv's and fs's here. Our WebSphere Admin doesn't like this because apparently... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: scottsl
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Check backup file size on backup tape