Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Reg: char ptr - Coredumps
Top Forums Programming Reg: char ptr - Coredumps Post 60027 by google on Friday 7th of January 2005 12:51:28 PM
Old 01-07-2005
Code:
#include <stdio.h>
void main()
{
int Index=1;
char *Type=NULL;

Type = (char *)Index;
printf("%s",Type);

}

Well, Im still learning C just a novice. Looking at the code above though, Index does not have a new line terminus. Printf wont know when to stop printing. Is this why it cores?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

file ptr.

Is there any way to know the filename from an available file pointer. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bankpro
2 Replies

2. AIX

Configuring Color Laser ptr in AIX

Hi All, I have Network color laser printer which is to be configured in AIX5L. The Model of the printer is OKI C3200. Will it is supported with AIX 5..? I could not find any drivers for this. Will any compatible drivers are available for this printer... I tried with the default drivers hplj-4... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: helloajith
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Coredumps and swap - was part of Solaris Mem Consumption

We have Sun OS running on spark : SunOS ciniwnpr67 5.10 Generic_118833-24 sun4u sparc SUNW,Sun-Fire-V440 Having Physical RAM : Sol10box # prtconf | grep Mem Memory size: 8192 Megabytes My Top Output is : 130 processes: 129 sleeping, 1 on cpu CPU states: 98.8% idle, 0.2% user, 1.0%... (39 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajwinder
39 Replies

4. Programming

int *ptr + max possible value

From reading my C book, Im aware that the integers have a maximum value which depends on what type of processor you are using (since they use 16-bit or 32-bit instructions). Now I know pointers are very flexible, since they can reference anything, but in the case of integer pointers, can they... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: JamesGoh
4 Replies

5. Programming

Adding a single char to a char pointer.