Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Help with Solaris 8 10/00 Installation on Sun Fire V490 Server Post 302975321 by hicksd8 on Saturday 11th of June 2016 04:38:12 AM
Old 06-11-2016
My money has to be on that the Solaris 8 CD/DVD you have is too old for that hardware. If you have a compatible distribution it should just work.

I'm assuming that the DVD drive is working? Does it flash when you hit return on the boot command?

Last edited by DukeNuke2; 06-12-2016 at 05:13 AM.. Reason: Deleted illegal content.
This User Gave Thanks to hicksd8 For This Post:

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Sun Fire 280R Sun Solaris CRT/Monitor requirements

I am new to Sun. I brought Sun Fire 280R to practice UNIX. What are the requirements for the monitor/CRT? Will it burn out old non-Sun CRTs? Does it need LCD monitor? Thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bramptonmt
3 Replies

2. Solaris

Solaris 9 to Solaris 10 upgrade on Sun Fire 3800

Hello there! I have Sun Fire 3800 with very old Solaris 9 and I need to perform upgrade to concurrent Solaris 10 version, preserving current OS configuration. I supose to make it using Live Upgrade, but according to Solaris Live Upgrade Software: Minimum Patch Requirements page, I need to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sapfeer
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Disable Serials ports in Sun Fire v490

Hello people from Argentina i said you Hello. I am doing some works from an auditory. They want to disable login prompts on serial ports. Somebody knows how to do that? Thank your time. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: enkei17
1 Replies

4. Solaris

Sun Fire V490 occasionally downs

I can't find why but I suppose it is because of some hardware failures... I have a Sun Fire V490 with Solaris 10 5/08 which runs Sun Cluster 3.2 and it downs occasionally with a circumstances I can't define... Also I note some strange behavior after server failures: when I ran any diagnostics from... (6 Replies)