Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Arguments to scripts
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Arguments to scripts Post 302907351 by vbe on Friday 27th of June 2014 10:34:12 AM
Old 06-27-2014
If your script is one that is expected to run in interactive mode: Since its will ask to enter things (and then read the input after pressing Enter Key...) I dont see how you will be able to get it to accept values, and we cant help without seeing the script...
You best bet is to use expect utility, search the forum for expect usage

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing and using arguments in Scripts.

I am new to scripting in AIX / UNIX. I have a script that runs 4 other scripts and I want to be able to pass in a agrument that I can check before I run the next script to see if the previous script finished with no errors. Can someone send me an example of this as I'm sure it's pretty easy to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: David.Vilmain
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Profile scripts versus rc scripts....

what is the difference between login and profile scripts versus the rc scripts? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rookie22
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing Arguments in Shell Scripts

Hello everybody! First time posting here:) Right, I am trying to pass arguments in my shell scripts using $1, $2 and $3 etc using if else statement........ This is my shell script which is based on serching the google website #!/bin/sh wget -t1 -E -e robots=off - -awGet.log -T 200 -H... (47 Replies)
Discussion started by: kev_1234
47 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Script using rsh and scripts within scripts