Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting need help to compare 2 files inside a loop Post 302575124 by cstadnyk1 on Sunday 20th of November 2011 03:50:20 PM
Old 11-20-2011
This is good.....although I think it would be easier using an until loop. You will have to edit this because i know its not going to be right but for example....
Code:
read -p "colour : " colour

until grep -i "$colour" "colour_names.txt"
do *something*
done

My apologies for the loop...I am just learning. I tried your while loop but it doesnt seem to want to work.....even if the colour is right, it just keeps prompting to re renter

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use code tags when posting data and code samples, thank you.

Last edited by Franklin52; 11-21-2011 at 08:07 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

for loop, calling and editing multiple files inside

hey guys, I'm trying to call and modify multiple files inside the for loop, i can't get it to work... ------------------------ AFILE=/dir/a_file.txt BFILE=/dir/b_file.txt CFILE=/dir/c_file.txt ADESTFILE=/dir/a_dest_file.txt BDESTFILE=/dir/b_dest_file.txt... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: DeuceLee
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using variables created sequentially in a loop while still inside of the loop [bash]

I'm trying to understand if it's possible to create a set of variables that are numbered based on another variable (using eval) in a loop, and then call on it before the loop ends. As an example I've written a script called question (The fist command is to show what is the contents of the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: DeCoTwc
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH loop inside a loop question