Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with File Slow Processing Post 302534593 by srattani on Tuesday 28th of June 2011 08:42:31 AM
Old 06-28-2011
Hi methyl,

Thanks for look at my post I really appreciate it, I am new to Unix scripting so def. need guidance. Please see my answers

What Operating System and version are you running? It is sun solaris

What Shell is /bin/sh on your computer? How do I tell? I just know i am using sh

How many lines are processed from the 133 files? Is it definitely not the whole of each file? Each file has a number of records on very first line, I read that and process those many rows it can be anywhere from 10 to 200

Does the script work? Yes the script works but each file is taking approx 4 seconds to process and 133 files are taking 523 seconds which is almost 8 minutes for 133 files for 1 day and I have to process it for 400 days Smilie which wud take 53 hours Smilie

What are these lines for? Is there a local reason for these complex redirects? I copied it from a colleague so if you think there is no reason for these redirections I would appreciate your guidance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

File writing is slow

Hello Guru, I am using a Pro*C program to prepare some reports usaually the report file size is greater than 1GB. But nowadays program is very slow. I found out the program is taking much time to write data to file ..... is there any unix related reason to be slow down, the file writting... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhagyaraj.p
2 Replies

2. SCO

Slow Processing - not matching hardware capabilities

I have been a SCO UNIX user, never an administrator...so I am stumbling around looking for information. I don't know too much about what is onboard in terms of hardware, however; I will try my best. We have SCO 5.07 and have applied MP5. We have a quad core processor with 4 250 GB... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: atpbrownie