Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find *.tar files under all subdirectories Post 302477135 by skcvasanth on Friday 3rd of December 2010 10:31:37 AM
Old 12-03-2010
Find *.tar files under all subdirectories

Hi there,

I'm new to shell scripting...
I've a situation like to find *.tar files under all subdirectories in "/home/abcd" and i used the below,

Code:
find /opt/lhapp ! -name "temp" | more

the above works fine.. Now don't need search few direcotries like "/home/abcd/aaaa", "/home/abcd/bbbb", "/home/abcd/cccc". So i need to exclude these directories. How??? any ideas???

Thanks in advance!
Vasanth.

Last edited by radoulov; 12-03-2010 at 11:33 AM.. Reason: Code tags, please!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

tar subdirectories for specific files

I have a sample directory structire like following # pwd /user/test and I have files like following out.txt A/a.txt B/b.txt C/c.txt (A,B,C are directories ) # tar cvf test.tar * a A/a.txt 1 blocks a B/b.txt 1 blocks a C/c.txt 1 blocks a out.txt 1 blocks But whenever I give (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ronald_brayan
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find all files created by a specified user in a directory and its subdirectories

Is there a command or shell script which can be used for Finding all files created by a specified userid in a directory and its subdirectories. Say, I want to find all such files in directory /abc as well as in all the subdirectories such as /abc/xyz or /abc/xyz/pqr aqnd so on which was created... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: abhilashnair
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell:Find a word in files in a directory and subdirectories