Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to append text from one file into another Post 302434912 by bartus11 on Monday 5th of July 2010 05:11:08 PM
Old 07-05-2010
Last line syntax-wise is OK. I don't know if it will work, as I have zero experience with that (or any) computing cluster solution.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to append text into a file.

I have a command stream that will parse down an ftp DIR listing of a remote directory and return the name of the newest file that I am interested in. The command is sed -e '/^d/d' sppay.listing |sed -n -e '/SPPAY/p'|sort -r -k 43M,45 -k 47,48 -k 50,54|sed -n -e '1p'|cut -c 56-99 and what it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: beilstwh
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

append a text to a file every month

i have something like below in my SAS code and every month i need to append a text say 'ext.hlc_sum0906' near ext.hlc_sum0905 and next month after ext.hlc_sum0906 i need to append this 'ext.hlc_sum0907' and so on like that.. is it possible using SED or some other command in unix? %let... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: depakjan
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to append text to the second line of a file

Say I have a text file like: 1 3 4 How would I use ksh to put the number '2' into the second line of that file? I'm using OpenBSD so the sed syntax might be a bit different (I have no idea how to use sed, though) (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: guitarscn
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append Text in Result File Name

Hi Below command is returning the list of files which having this string "MTL_SYSTEM_ITEMS". find . -name "*"|xargs grep -il MTL_SYSTEM_ITEMS Ex: Above command is returing 2 files (Out of 10 files 2 files having this string). ./file1.txt and ./file2.txt Here I want to append... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: balajiora
3 Replies