Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to parse filenames in a directory and do some actions Post 302400380 by Franklin52 on Wednesday 3rd of March 2010 05:05:08 AM
Old 03-03-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by troman
Since some subdirectories can already be in the directory...
No problem if you use the -p option of mkdir, from the man page:

Quote:
-p, --parents
no error if existing, make parent directories as needed

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Script to perform some actions on multiple files

I have this Korn script that I wrote (with some help) that is run by cron. I basically watches a file system for a specific filename to be uploaded (via FTP), checks to make sure that the file is no longer being uploaded (by checking the files size), then runs a series of other scripts. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: heprox
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping thru filenames in a directory

Hi, i am very new to UNIX, i am trying to loop thru the files in a directory. I got the filenames into a variable using $files=`ls` Here $files will contain <filename1> <filename2> <filename3> I want to get one filename at a time and append it to some some text. forexample, ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: silas.john
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

concatenating the filenames in a directory

hi all, I have a requirement where in i have to read all the filenames based on a pattern from a directory and concatenate all these file names and write it to another file. i am using the following code to do this var1='' for filename in $_DIR/${FILE_NAME}* do if if then... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: nvuradi
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change all filenames in a directory