Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell Script to replace text
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell Script to replace text Post 302396960 by EAGL€ on Saturday 20th of February 2010 01:27:31 AM
Old 02-20-2010
is this what you looking for?

Code:
for file in $(find . -type f -name "*.txt" -print)
do
		cp $file $file.bak
		sed 's/pattern1/pattern2/g' $file > $file.tmp
		mv $file.tmp $file
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replace a value with another in shell script

hai everybody, i am new to scripting,i have to replace a value with another value ina script...both the values i have got in two seperate variables...can anyone give me the syntax how to do this in a shell script... ie. e1=$5,e2=$6 v2=$1,v3=$7 now i want to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Babu
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script - replace text in file

I have a file something like this (except much larger amount of rows/data) 0001 blue testing1 0002 blue testing2 0006 blue testing3 0232 red testing4 2143 blue testing5 3453 blue testing6 In a script I want to replace the word red with blue where the line begins with a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using shell to replace characters in a text file

Can I just say, this is such a frustrating and yet enormously rewarding field of study. I'm in the middle of configuring GeekTool (Uh oh, stupid n00b) and I really only have one question. I'm using Automator to grab a RSS feed, having GeekTool continually run that application every 10 minutes,... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: SomeTechGuy
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

gawk script to search and replace text in a flat file