Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Setting up a Solaris training Post 302248559 by Perderabo on Saturday 18th of October 2008 10:05:16 AM
Old 10-18-2008
We are trying to get people to upgrade away from Solaris 8. With the kind of "push back" we're getting, you'd think we had asked them to eat a bucket of worms. The new system start up is the big thing. You can ignore zfs and dtrace, but you can't ignore the changes to system start up. Even a simple thing like disabling (or re-enabling) sendmail freaks out most folks approaching 10 for the first time. You won't be comfortable with the os until you're comfortable with this. This is the main reason that a lot of people where I work have rejected Solaris 10.

Reason number 2 is no support for static linking, but this only requires a quick sentence or two in your class.

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX/solaris training

I am new to UNIX and somewhat familiar with Solaris. Can you suggest any good (simple English) books that can help me with understanding and learning UNIX? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: iamnew2solaris
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris for a training: PC vs Sparc

I need a computer to try Solaris. I'm learning with UNIX Academy training DVDs and after spending much time with Linux I want to try and learn on Solaris. I'll have to buy a computer for my training anyway. I found on ebay plenty of inexpensive Sun boxes. Would it be beneficial for learning to have... (26 Replies)
Discussion started by: newlinuxuser1
26 Replies

3. Solaris

Setting IP on Solaris 10 help

Hi all, So, I need to change the IP/netmask on 2 sun v240's running solaris 10. I seem to have done it correctly on one, it's holding the ip after a init 6 reboot. The other does not want to keep ip using same commands. I'm guessing I have to change some files I haven't yet, but have no... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kuriosity_prime
7 Replies