Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX multiple instances of same vg on same AIX machine Post 302218261 by navadeep on Thursday 24th of July 2008 09:10:28 PM
Old 07-24-2008
multiple instances of same vg on same AIX machine

hi,
i am new to AIX and to this forum as well. Can you please help me out with following issue/requirement

1) I have one physical volume (pv1) (a scsi disk). (pv1) on 1st AIX machine. I have a single volume group on it(vg1).
2)I removed it from the 1st AIX machine and exported to the 2nd AIX machine. I am able to successfully import the vg1 and use it.
3) Now i got a new physical volume (pv2) on 1st AIX machine, and created the same volume group on it i.e vg1. (it has some updated information than the old volume group vg1).
4) Now i removed from 1st AIX machine and exported to 2nd AIX machine. 5) Now when i try to import this new vg1 on AIX2 it says vg1 is already used.

But i want to have both the volume groups (old vg1 and new vg1) on the same AIX server (2nd one). So some one can help me how i can do it? I dont want to use different vg names.

I have AIX 6.1 on 64bit kernel

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

multiple instances of syslogd - is it possible?

I would like to start up multiple instances of syslog daemon. I am having a little difficulty. Is this at all possible? I have separate syslog.conf1.... syslog.conf5 files. I have linked the daemon to separate files syslogd1 ... syslogd5 I have arranged the rcd.2 start/stop scripts for... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gary Dunn
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Multiple file instances

I am capturing text based reports with a specific program, which works no problem. However, since I send report warehouse output as they are migrated from the database software, on occasion when two capture process' initiate simultaneously, the capture file locks up. Is there a way to setup (in... (1 Reply)