Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Basic questions on writing a Unix Service (newbie help!) Post 302098694 by Rutland Gizz on Wednesday 6th of December 2006 02:59:38 AM
Old 12-06-2006
Basic questions on writing a Unix Service (newbie help!)

Hi there.

I've got 12 years experience writing C++ on Windows, and 3 years C# on Windows. Now my boss wants me to write a C++ app to run on Unix as a multithreaded 'service' (i.e. a program that runs with no user intervention).

Some quick questions for The Experts:

* Whats the best C++ compiler to use? I'm happy with ANSI compliant stuff.
* Whats the best editing/IDE environment to use? Please don't say VI as it's UI makes me ill. Something as close as possible to VS2005 would be nice Smilie
* Is there a special name for a service on Unix? Smilie
* Where would I start in writing a TSR type app (i.e. one that runs in the background on Unix)

Some good 'Unix programming for beginners' literature/websites wouldn't go amiss either.

Thanks in advance!
Gizz. Smilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Writing a .NET service to be Hosted in UNIX

Has anyone here written an MS compatible .NET service that is hosted and served from a UNIX server instead of a W2K server? I love programming and writing .NET services with Visual Studio.NET and C#, but there is a fundamental problem --the Win2k server itself. It is not near as reliable as Sun... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: yeslekmc
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

basic UNIX questions

Can somebody please tell me a little about UNIX OS. For instance, is it ideal for digital media or how easy is it to get help and support? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: buk5d
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic Unix Questions

OK, here's a question from a true UNIX newb: How does one make a 20 line file? I'm lost. :confused: OK, I figured it out. :D (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kitchen Zinc
0 Replies