Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Query on a shell script logic Post 302078344 by tipsy on Thursday 29th of June 2006 04:15:13 PM
Old 06-29-2006
MySQL Query on a shell script logic

Hello people,
I am new to shell scripting and hoping to get a quick answer to my query.
I am writing a simple script which needs to call an executale which generates an output file. Once the output file is generated I have to do a couple of more task with that file. The executable ideally takes 2 to 3 minutes to finish execution.
My question is
- Should I call the executable & once done look for the output file to do the next steps.
Or
- Should I run the executable as a backgound process using "&" and then have a loop which will keep checking whether the output file is generated.

Is there any drawbacks with following either of these approaches.

Any inputs would be highly appreciated.

Regards,
Tipsy

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

C Shell Script query

Hi I need a small help Cshell% more abc.txt ******** Cshell% cat abc.txt | cut -c1-3 *** Cshell%set test3=`cat abc.txt | cut -c1-3` Cshell%echo $test3 a.txt b.txt................. ..... It displays all the file in the current directory. I want *** to be displayed. Can any one of... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bpupdown
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell script query

Hi, I am stuck assigning a value to a variable. I am trying to assign a value to a variable but getting error.... IP_ADDR=grep 'I.P. Address' /install/cfgdist/`uname -n`.cfg | cut -d : -f 2| cut -d . -f 1-3| sed s/" "//g I am using this script to grep first three octets of an IP address... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: max29583
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script query