Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell hosting
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Shell hosting Post 24731 by scuzoid on Wednesday 17th of July 2002 06:07:19 AM
Old 07-17-2002
Shell hosting

Hi, IMA nOOb;

I would greatly appreciate it if anybody could shed some light on this subject.

For example I want users to login using ssh or ftp

and not be ABLE to leave their userdir

so they cannot view any directories outside of the /home/user

so they can't

cd /
ls
Sorry I am new to this type of thing and don't know how to "talk the talk"

Now I am thinking possibly chroot(jailing) maybe involved? Who knows *not me*?

I would like to thank all the folks who replied to this question and apprieciate your perspective on this issue. I would also like too thank all people who looked at and read this post.

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

Project hosting?

Hey admins!, Please can you consider hosting devel projects. A. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ASGR
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Apache Hosting-Shell Script - external files include

Hi there Well, it's my first time on this board, so short to myself: I'm matibaski, working as a webdeveloper and also as a system administrator on ubuntu server machines. The problem: I created a small apache-hostingscript by myself and it works fine. But after some addings and new... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: matibaski
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

MilesWeb.com shared hosting or unlimited hosting plans?

I want to host a website in India, after all my research I have found MilesWeb.com, I am planning to go for their shared plan http://www.milesweb.com/cpanel-hosting.php I have test their contact options and response time, they are really available 24/7. I have checked few other providers, they... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Guruguy
1 Replies