Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl code to search for filenames that contain special characters Post 96224 by mahendramahendr on Wednesday 18th of January 2006 03:39:01 PM
Old 01-18-2006
#!/usr/bin/perl -w

open(FLDR," find . -name '*' | sed 's/\\\\/\\\\\\\\/g' | ");
while( $line=<FLDR> )
{
my $vl = qx(basename $line);

if ( $vl =~ /\*|\<|\>|\?|\||:|\\|\// )
{
$line =~ s/\\\\/\\/g;
print "Patter found in $line";
}
}
close FLDR;

output :

$ tmp2.pl
Patter found in ./mah*ab
Patter found in ./amh\hai

is this ok ?

Last edited by mahendramahendr; 01-18-2006 at 04:51 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search special characters in a file

Hello I am new to shell scripting and can anyone tell me how to check if there are any special characters in a file. Can i use grep ? thanks susie (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cramya80
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Open filename with special characters in Perl

Hi All, I am facing a weird problem. I have got a directory structure copied from windows to Linux. Some of the folders are named like /gfs/data/Dow Jones $5/ DJ FCBOT_O_tick_1998.zip /gfs/data/Dow Jones $5/ DJ FCBOT_O_tick_2000.CSV /gfs/data/Dow Jones... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: mitrashatru
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove special characters from text using PERL

Hi, I am stuck with a problem here. Suppose i have a variable which is assigned some string containing special charatcers. for eg: $a="abcdef^bbwk#kdbcd@"; I have to remove the special characters using Perl. The text is assigned to the variable implicitly. How to do it? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: agarwal
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Want the substring of a string with special characters using perl