Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: doubt regardin regex in grep
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting doubt regardin regex in grep Post 83131 by Ygor on Sunday 11th of September 2005 08:39:42 PM
Old 09-11-2005
Looks like a homework assignment.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep doubt

Hi, I have one txt file as bellow: Inspector logging xxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Inspector logging xxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Inspector loggingxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Inspector logging xxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx I want... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: redlotus72
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with grep and regex

Hi all, I'm a beginner with linux, regex, grep, etc I am trying to get data out of a file that has about 13,000 lines in this format name - location I want to grep all the names out to one file and the locations to another so I can put them into a spreadsheet. Some have hyphenated... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: raichlea
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

doubt in grep command

Hello i am new shell scripting. I have a file like this, $ cat myfile ;/abc/abc.cpp@@/main/1;xyz ;/abc/abc.cpp@@/main/2;usr2 ;/abc/abc.cpp@@/main/1;abc ;/abc/abc.cpp@@/main/2;usr2 ;/abc/abc.cpp@@/main/1;usr1 when i grep the file. $ grep "abc" myfile... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: tsaravanan
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

| help | unix | grep (GNU grep) 2.5.1 | advanced regex syntax

Hello, I'm working on unix with grep (GNU grep) 2.5.1. I'm going through some of the newer regex syntax using Regular Expression Reference - Advanced Syntax a guide. ls -aLl /bin | grep "\(x\)" Which works, just highlights 'x' where ever, when ever. I'm trying to to get (?:) to work but... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: MykC
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

doubt in grep