Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Chat with iBot - Our RSS Robot Girl Who is Zazzybob? What is SED? AWK? Post 63834 by Gollum on Friday 25th of February 2005 05:05:19 PM
Old 02-25-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perderabo
What is green?
Grass is green.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk / sed

I have many messages such as the test message below: 00:00000:00021:2002/05/13 13:57:00.51 ERROR:- Test error, my test error!!! I am writing a script in which I need to get everything from the word "ERROR:-" onwards. I normally use awk for these things, but I am not an expert at it so i am... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: baileyr1
6 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

congrats to zazzybob

i definitely want to thank and congratulate zazzybob on becoming a moderator in record time.. ZazzyBob you definitely have skills and hopefully they will continue to grow and spread... thanx for helping me out all those times moxxx68 (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: moxxx68
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

sed in awk ? or nested awk ?

Hey all, Can I put sed command inside the awk action ?? If not then can i do grep in the awk action ?? For ex: awk '$1=="174" { ppid=($2) ; sed -n '/$ppid/p' tempfind.txt ; }' tempfind.txt Assume: 174 is string. Assume: tempfind.txt is used for awk and sed both. tempfind.txt... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: varungupta
11 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWk or Sed Help

hi, im trying to some data but only certain ones. like for instance "aaaaaaaaaaaaaa" "\$123 456.52" and i would like the filtered line to be "aaaaaaaaaaaaaa" "\$123456.52" By reading each line and finding the character $ then deleteing any spaces in between $ and the decimal. I tried... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vb615
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed and awk giving error ./sample.sh: line 13: sed: command not found