Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: grep & sed question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting grep & sed question Post 58435 by zazzybob on Monday 22nd of November 2004 03:49:27 AM
Old 11-22-2004
Just a couple of ideas....

For the end of line problem, use tr or dos2unix (if applicable and installed) to replace the end of line characters with \n.

For getting the absolute path, have a look at "dirname".

Cheers
ZB

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed / grep question

Hello, I am new to shell scripting. I have a input file: Few lines of the input file has the following. /a0012/abcd12/abcd12 /a0003/xyzab1/lmno123 /a0006/pqrst1/abcde12 In my output file, I only need to get anything that is between the first and second '/' of each line: exampple:... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: hemangjani
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

question on sed grep awk from variable

i am still confusing on how to use sed, grep and awk if the input is not a file but a variable. such as: a="hello world" b="how are you" c="best wish to you" d="222,333,444" what if i want to check which variable $a,$b,$c,$d have contain "you" what if i want to replace the word "you"... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: 3Gmobile
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sed/grep string replace question

Hi all, I know this question has probably been answered before, but I am struggling with this problem, even after googling a million pages. In a file named rdmt.conf I need a single character replaced, the number in the line below CUR_OC4J_ID=1 It will always appear after... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike AAA
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep char count & pipe to sed command