Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Which category do you belong to? Post 302988846 by wisecracker on Tuesday 3rd of January 2017 04:09:22 PM
Old 01-03-2017
I can't really poll on this as I don't fit anywhere.

I am a mere amateur who likes working in the worst case. I like finding the limits of languages without using extra external libraries to do my tasks. I have abandoned Python because there is a library for just about everything a programmer needs, these things make life easy. I am hooked on Shell Scripting and haven't even scratched the surface yet after 3 years of experimentation.
Am I capable of being an admin? NO!
Am I developer? Well yes and no.
I don't consider myself good enough to code something like Audacity but I am quite capable of coding to hit the hardware where it hurts hardest in some languages that were not designed for the task. ;o)
Am I management material? Absolutely not, if I can't get my hands dirty then I am not interested.
Why do I code? Purely to learn something different from my profession, (a retired), Electronics Engineer.
Could I set up and maintain a serious server farm? NO! End of story.
Could I set up and maintain a tiny private network? Yes, but that makes me no expert by any stretch of the imagination.

So an extra section for the pure amateur:-

Amateur with no absolute knowledge of any one part of computer science, but willing to learn.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

listing files that do not belong to current date

How do we list all the file names in a directory that does not belong to current date. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: esh.mohan
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

listing files that does not belong to current date

How do we list all the file names in a directory that does not belong to current date. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: esh.mohan
3 Replies

3. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators