Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Looping and sed
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Looping and sed Post 302979749 by MadeInGermany on Thursday 18th of August 2016 01:03:08 PM
Old 08-18-2016
Yes indeed, if the number(ID) file is file3 with 6000 lines, this would mean (up to) 6000 input files.
However, the sample script in post#1 seems to take file1 as the number file...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with looping

Hi, Actually I have a file which consists data . for eg names. Then I want my sql query to read this file and produce the output. Currently I am using this FOR EG : FILENAME is NAMES for i in `cat NAMES` { sqlplus -s $CONNECTID << EOF spool rooh set heading off select... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rooh
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping and awk/sed help

I am pretty new to this, but imagine what I am trying to do is possible iI am trying to make an automated DB comparison tool that selects all columns in all tables and compares them to the same thing in another DB. anyway I have created 2 files to help with this the first file is a... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: Zelp
13 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping

Hi I have around 100 users in sun server and have default home directory in /usr/home/<username> I want to clean their home directory time to time to make free space on root, as users generate many output files during usage of application. My idea is, generate a file with following command... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ishir
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looping and using Sed

Hi guys I having som problem trying to use sed to get a file and insert inside another one. I'll try to explain better. I have a base.txt and using sed(having a array variables) I'm chaging some strings inside this file and saving as base1.txt. until here okay. Then, I have to get this... (4 Replies)