Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk to update field file based on match Post 302974580 by RudiC on Wednesday 1st of June 2016 04:04:12 AM
Old 06-01-2016
To sort of keep the formatting, try a small adaption to Aia's fine proposal:

Code:
awk 'FNR==NR {A[$1]=$2; next}  $2 in A {sub ($2, $2 "." A[$2]) }1' file1 file2

To update your files, try redirection && move.
This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Update a field in a file based on condition

Hi i am new to scripting. i have a file file.dat with content as : CONTENT_STORAGE PERCENTAGE FLAG: /storage_01 64% 0 /storage_02 17% 1 I need to update the value of FLAG for a particular CONTENT_STORAGE value I have written the following code #!/bin/sh threshold=20... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kichu
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk match to update contents of file

I am trying to match $1 in file1 with $2 in file2. If a match is found then $3 and $4 of file2 are copied to file1. Both files are tab-delimeted and I am getting a syntax error and would also like to update file1 in-place without creating a new file, but am not sure how. Thank you :). file1 ... (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmccabe
19 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to update field in file based of match in another

I am trying to use awk to match two files that are tab-delimited. When a match is found between file1 $1 and file2 $4, $4 in file2 is updated using the $2 value in file1. If no match is found then the next line is processed. Thank you :). file1 uc001bwr.3 ADC uc001bws.3 ADC... (4 Replies)
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to update value in field based on another field