Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users awk With multiple print variables Post 302941164 by vgersh99 on Monday 13th of April 2015 01:20:20 PM
Old 04-13-2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohammed Rafi
Many thanks, This is working perfectly fine.

nawk -v para="$param" 'BEGIN {FS="\037";OFS="\037"; n=split (para, P, "$")} {for(i=2; i<=n;i++) printf("%s%s", $P[i], (i==n)?ORS:OFS)}' 1.dat

Regards,

---------- Post updated at 12:03 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:02 PM ----------

Just not sure why the first number i should be equal to 2?, But it works
If your param='$1$2' and you n=split (para, P, "$"), then the P[1] is empty as the field preceding the FIRST $, is empty.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

print multiple lines with awk

Hi everyone! I'm not new to Unix, but I've never used awk before. I tried to look up this information on several sites and forums, I also looked in the documentation but I haven't found a solution yet. I would like to print the previous 3 lines before and the following 4 lines after the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: djcsabus
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk (or other) script that assigns fields from a line to multiple variables

Hey all, Unfortunately I have only basic knowledge of awk and/or scripting. If I have a file with lines that can look similar to this: Name=line1 Arg1=valueA Arg2=valueB Arg3=valueC Name=line2 Arg1=valueD Name=line3 Arg1=valueE Arg3=valueF Name=line4 Arg2=valueG ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rike255
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

print pattern between two variables awk sed

I am trying to print text between two variables in a file I have tried the following things but none seem to work: awk ' /'$a'/ {flag=1;next} /'$b'/{flag=0} flag { print }' file and also sed "/$a/,/$b/p" file But none seem to work Any Ideas? Thanks in Advance (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: forumbaba