Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users awk With multiple print variables Post 302941149 by vgersh99 on Monday 13th of April 2015 12:09:17 PM
Old 04-13-2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohammed Rafi
Oh!! Actually, I was planning to write a generic function which may work for any number of fields to be seperated. So, Is it not possible?
Just use the approach I suggested - it's "number-of-fields" agnostic..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

print multiple lines with awk

Hi everyone! I'm not new to Unix, but I've never used awk before. I tried to look up this information on several sites and forums, I also looked in the documentation but I haven't found a solution yet. I would like to print the previous 3 lines before and the following 4 lines after the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: djcsabus
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk (or other) script that assigns fields from a line to multiple variables

Hey all, Unfortunately I have only basic knowledge of awk and/or scripting. If I have a file with lines that can look similar to this: Name=line1 Arg1=valueA Arg2=valueB Arg3=valueC Name=line2 Arg1=valueD Name=line3 Arg1=valueE Arg3=valueF Name=line4 Arg2=valueG ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rike255
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

print pattern between two variables awk sed

I am trying to print text between two variables in a file I have tried the following things but none seem to work: awk ' /'$a'/ {flag=1;next} /'$b'/{flag=0} flag { print }' file and also sed "/$a/,/$b/p" file But none seem to work Any Ideas? Thanks in Advance (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: forumbaba
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

To print variables using awk