Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk script for contains search Post 302908612 by Akshay Hegde on Wednesday 9th of July 2014 05:39:12 AM
Old 07-09-2014
With some assumption, try

Code:
$ awk -F'|' '{ for(i=1;i<=NF;i++){  for(j in A){ if($i ~ j){ print; delete A; next} }  p=$i; gsub(/[[:space:]]+/,"|",p); A[p] } delete A  }' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script to search an html file and output links

hello. i want to make an awk script to search an html file and output all the links (e.g .html, .htm, .jpg, .doc, .pdf, etc..) inside it. also, i want the links that will be output to be split into 3 groups (separated by an empty line), the first group with links to other webpages (.html .htm etc),... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: kyris
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

reverse search in awk script

Hi, I am new to awk. Actually I want to search a pattern A, when I get that line with pattern A then for one of the field of that line again I want search on that field (say pattern B)from start of the file. I am using awk. Is nested searching possible in awk? Please do the needful as... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: id4forum
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using a script variable in awk search patterns

Hi all, In a script like : job_date=.... ls -l 2>/dev/null | awk -v var =$job_date ' /Name\.Version\.+\.xml$/ { How can i include a script variable job_date store in "var" in the pattern "/Name\.Version\.+\.xml$/" Thanks in advance (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: abhinav192
12 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk Script: Nested search using different patter