Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux How does the Operating System handle memory? Post 302894664 by DGPickett on Wednesday 26th of March 2014 03:36:16 PM
Old 03-26-2014
UNIX and most O/S do such a good job of making processes think they have an unlimited memory computer to themselves,they have to work pretty hard to communicate with each other. The effort is not much less than that to talk to another computer! However, two or more processes can share the same pages, not necessarily in exactly the same apparent location but in the same physical memory pages. For instance, almost every program shares libc, and with dynamic linking, one (executable or read only) copy serves all.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Operating System

I need the Unix operating system on disc as im new to unix. Im studying unix and x windows next year at Sheffield University and would like to get a head start. Any suggestions would be appreciated (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeffersno1
2 Replies

2. Programming

How to handle memory error?

Hi, I need to know what is the right way of handling out of memory conditions. If a program is not able to dynamically allocate memory (new fails), is it right to wait for some amount of time (say 5 sec) and then try again to allocate memory? Or should we kill the process and again restart it?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: diganta
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Operating System

Which is much more powerful as an operating system: 1. Windows 2000 2. Windows 98 3. Windows XP 4. Windows ME 5. Unix 6. Linux and why is it much more powerful than the other operating systems that i have mentioned. thanks for your info... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: alecks1975
1 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

Operating system LINUX