Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Addition of new line
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Addition of new line Post 302889413 by vbe on Thursday 20th of February 2014 11:22:52 AM
Old 02-20-2014
In other words you have no write permission in that directory...
This User Gave Thanks to vbe For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

addition

Hi all, I am new to perl. I need help adding bunch of numbers. I have a file look like this: 1 1 2 1 2 3 1 2 3 4 1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: email-lalit
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple addition, help.

I add up the number of args that are not blank. It works, but the printout is a string that just keep concatenating on +1. So Ex. it goes through input of: bob toto " " tom ...I get 0+1+1+1, when all I want is 3. Any help is appreciated. count=0 for name in $* do if ; then ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bandit390
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

addition in sh shell

I have to create un counter and I am unable to do an additition: #!/bin/sh count=$1 while ] do echo $count $count=$count+$1 done (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cfg
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition

Hi all, I am getting following output by using commands like sort, uniq and awk to the standard output. 110 d 40 a 59 c 9 b 3 e Now at the end I would like to add all the numbers in column 1 and display the count of all numbers i.e. (110 + 40 + 59 + 9 + 3). Also the output may... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tenderfoot
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Addition

Hi all, I am very new to shell programming and trying to learn out the basics. I tried this: $ echo `expr 20 + 30` and it worked. But when i tried this,it does not work. $ a=20 $ b=30 $ echo `expr a + b` The error is: expr: non-numeric argument I cant understand why its... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gautamshaw
3 Replies