Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Meaning of script with echo, -d, -f1, -f2 Post 302889386 by sea on Thursday 20th of February 2014 08:51:24 AM
Old 02-20-2014
This forum contains manpages Smilie

Some basics about the Korn Shell: Man Page for ksh (all Section 1) - The UNIX and Linux Forums

Hope this helps

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Meaning of this line in script

Can anyone explain me the meaning of line #2 in these lines of shell script: if ; then ${EXPR} " ${MACTIONS } " : ".* ${ACTION} " >/dev/null 2>&1 || die "$USAGE" else Sorry in case this is a trivial thing (I am not an expert in this). (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: radiatejava
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using echo to create a script

Hello all, I want to be able to create a script on the fly from another script by echoing lines into a file, but am running into difficulty, as it isn't working right. What am I doing wrong? echo "for i in `grep $FRAME /root_home/powermt.sort.fil |awk '{print $7}'`" > pvtimout_set.sh... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: LinuxRacr
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

meaning of script

hello every one i want to know meaning of following line INST_PARA=$HOME/install/Install.Para SAVEMEDIUM=`awk '$2=="ArchiveSave"{print$4}' $INST_PARA` (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kaydream
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

echo prints nothing-shell script

could anyone tell me why when i execute the following script, echo returns blank set k = 1 echo $k (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: saman_glorious
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

printf/echo in a second script