Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help needed - RHL
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help needed - RHL Post 302875994 by Corona688 on Thursday 21st of November 2013 10:45:28 AM
Old 11-21-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhi123
I changed ip in /etc/hosts and used init 3 to reboot.
Reboot would be init 6. I think 'init 3' might be 'shut down all network applications', which includes graphical user interfaces as far as Linux is concerned.

If you have keyboard/monitor to a Linux PC, you do have a physical terminal -- several in fact. You can switch between them at will with ctrl-alt-f1 (or alt-f1 on some machines) through ctrl-alt-f12. The GUI lives in one of these terminals, so at least one will be blank right now.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dual booted RHL 7.3 with Win XP..

Hello all, I'm a no Linux expert! But I perfectly dual booted Win XP with RHL 7.3 on a hp pavilion notebook (model ze5170). All working fantastic now. But I have a minor problem now. I can't get RHL probe the modem, so could not get the internet connection working. The modem is a Conexant... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Vishnu
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

External Modem for RHL 7.3...

Another stupid question... and I can only hope someone can spend a little time answering it... So thats it. I went thru the documentation out there at linmodems.org, trie this and that... read thru this post https://www.unix.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1787 on my favorite forums. And... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Vishnu
3 Replies

3. Debian

HDD not detected by RHL 9 (or 7.2)

Hi, I have got myself a new hard disk- a 80 GB SATA IDE from Seagate. When I try installing Red Hat Linux 9(and RHL 7.2 too), it displays an error message saying that it fails to detect any hard drive. In the BIOS, I tried changing the drive configuration to "Legacy Drive", but that didnt help... (5 Replies)