Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How do I create a tar file for only dir and its subdir structures?? Post 302873585 by yogendra.barode on Tuesday 12th of November 2013 12:11:52 PM
Old 11-12-2013
Code:
tar -cvzf filename.tar.gz DIR_NAME/

---------- Post updated at 10:41 PM ---------- Previous update was at 10:40 PM ----------

Code:
tar -czvf directory.tar.gz -C my_directory .

Last edited by Scott; 11-12-2013 at 07:17 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to create tar file

hello, im a newbie in unix scripting. can someone pls send me a sample script that will tar files in the folders of a specific directory, but will exclude specific files, and afterwards, will ftp the tar into another server. for example: in this directory, pshrprod:/opt/psoft/weblogic/818sp9_80... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajrandrup
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to create new dir fro a file list

Hi, What will be the best way to do the follwing: i have a file calld dir.list /cav /cav/brif /usr/main /cat i want to run a script that will take each of the item in the file and create a new dir in a location that i'll choose it nee to do mkdir cav mkdir cav cd cav mkdir brif... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: banjo
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving dir subdir and files

I have created a directory structure and under the directory subdirectories and files are there.I need to move the entire thing to another path.How can i write a script to do that. currently the path of files is as below : /data1/serial/mcycle/archive : under this path differnt sub dir exist ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dr46014
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace string in multiple files, dir and subdir