Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk - how to compare part of the string? Post 302862649 by Subbeh on Friday 11th of October 2013 07:36:04 AM
Old 10-11-2013
Code:
awk -F, -v c=001 'substr($5,0,3)==c' file

This will print the line if the first three numbers of the 5th field are 001.
This User Gave Thanks to Subbeh For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract Part of string from 3rd field $3 using AWK

I'm executing "wc -lc" command in a c shell script to get record count and byte counts and writing them to a file. I get the result with the full pathname of the file. But I do not want the path name to be printed in the output file. I heard that using Awk we can get this but I don't have any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: stakuri
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get part of string in awk from match

Hi, Im an awk noob and I am having trouble trying to get matches. Here is my script: #!/bin/gawk -f BEGIN {} $0 ~ /<a href=".*">.*<\/a>/{print} Ideally I want to be able to get the actual link and print it. In PHP you can do preg_replace and get the match you want by using \\1 where 1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: adsyuk
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Awk command to get part of string based on delimeter

HI, Need awk command to get date and time alone from Input : "15:29:15 28.08.2010|SCHEDULE: Started program POSG1" Output expected : "15:29:15 28.08.2010" Please help. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: shanneykar
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

[awk]compare a number in a string with a list

Hi, I have a program written in awk and I want to extend it to do another task. My program is a list of CVS log reports of a repository. For each file, I have some fields. One of the fields is the comment field. I want to know how I can check if a comment (which is a free text field)... (8 Replies)