Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Want to remove telnet error/info from screen Post 302844823 by Skrynesaver on Tuesday 20th of August 2013 06:01:07 AM
Old 08-20-2013
You need to redirect STDERR to /dev/null as well to avoid these messages (unless inability to contact a host is of interest Smilie ), we can do this by redirecting stderr to stdout 2>&1 this is a very common idiom.

Code:
  snarf2 -c "show chassis status" `showHosts gsx |egrep "$REGEX"` > /dev/null > d1d1 2>&1

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Telnet and get info

Hello all, probably this is a very stupid question but I'm a beginner in the arts of scripting... :confused: I'm trying to do a script that logs in to several equipments, switchs etc, and make them show their version and save all the output to a file. I managed to do the login,... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pmpx
6 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

Please look at this screen shot: How do I remove this lock icon?!

RESOLVED in the screen shot I'd like to remove the lock sandwiched between the spaces indicator and the monitor icon, how do I get rid of it? It locks the screen and I cannot remember how it came to be http://guptaxpn.com/tmp/lock_icon_screenshot.png Thanks for your help! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: guptaxpn
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grabbing info from Telnet

I have a process that is running locally on the machine. When you telnet to the process: telnet IP port, it automatically returns a string which shows the status of that process. Something like this: # telnet IP Port Trying 127.0.0.1... Connected to localhost (127.0.0.1). Escape... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: skaptakalian
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Automatic logging (capture screen output) of telnet/ssh sessions on a Solaris node