Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract First and matching word from string in UNIX Post 302844356 by krishmaths on Monday 19th of August 2013 02:31:30 AM
Old 08-19-2013
Code:
 awk '{a=$1;} gsub(/\(/, " (") gsub(/\)/, " )") {for(i=2;i<=NF;i++) {if(substr($i,1,5)=="$dwh.") a=a" "substr($i,6)}} {print a}' file.sql

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl newbie: how to extract an unknown word from a string

hi, im quite new to perl regexp. i have a problem where i want to extract a word from a given string. but the word is unknown, only fact is that it appears as the second word in the string. Eg. input string(s) : char var1 = 'A'; int var2 = 10; char *ptr; and what i want to do is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wolwy_pete
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract single or multi word string in Cshell

I am using the following code: set LASInputFile = `ls *. | head -1` set COMPLine = `grep -i :COMPANY $LASInputFile` to extract the following line from my input file: COMP. XYZ Public Company :COMPANY NAME I now need to extract the full name of the company which... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: phudgens
15 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search string in unix and print whole matching word

Hi I have requirement to search string starting with specific characters and print whole matching word in that string. example mystr="ATTRIBUTE NAME="Event Name" VALUE="Execute"" I want to search by passing "NAME=" and result should be NAME="Event Name". i am using below command but... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tmalik79
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using SED to extract a word or string.