Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Question in creating targets in makefile Post 302843976 by Anand Venkatesa on Friday 16th of August 2013 02:09:51 AM
Old 08-16-2013
Question Question about creating targets in makefile

Hi,

I have a question related to makefile. I'm new to makefile and I'm in the process of writing a makefile for my RBT build. I have multiple source files and when I compile them I will get multiple object files (one object file for each source file). I'm having problem in creating a target for each object file with out hardcoding the object file names. I read the list of source file names from another make file. Assume the variable SRC_NAMES contains list of source file names (say test1.c test2.c test3.c). Now I want to create target for each objects for it (say test1.obj test2.obj test3.obj). Currently I have written some thing like below,

Code:

#############################################
OBJS_LIST := $(foreach file,$(SRC_NAMES),$(notdir ${file}))
OBJS_LIST := $(DSP_COMMON_OBJ_LIST:.c=.obj)

all: final.exe

final.exe: $(OBJS_LIST)
   create exe here

$(OBJS_LIST): $(SRC_NAMES)
    compile and generate object file for each source files here.

#############################################

This is not working. Since OBJS_LIST contains many object names, compilation action is repeated for many times for the target $(OBJS_LIST). My question is how to split the obj target into multiple targets without hard-coding the target obj names?

Thanks,
Anand

Last edited by Anand Venkatesa; 08-16-2013 at 03:46 AM.. Reason: Trivial Change in Title

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Creating new system Makefile template