Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Retaining file versions based on input parameter Post 302832765 by Corona688 on Monday 15th of July 2013 04:28:17 PM
Old 07-15-2013
Whoops, typo.

Code:
ls -tp abc* | grep -v "/$" | awk -v MAX="$1" 'NR > MAX' | xargs echo rm

This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Get the File Input from Parameter

pdir=`pwd` if ; then echo current directory $pdir ls -altr echo fi for f in $* do # directory if ; then echo current directory $f cd $f ls -latr echo fi # but you can test file/dir # regular file only if ; then echo... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: wtolentino
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass input and output file as parameter to awk script

Hi, i am new to awk. I am using csv2pipe script(shown below) BEGIN { FS=SUBSEP; OFS="|" } { result = setcsv($0, ",") print } # setcsv(str, sep) - parse CSV (MS specification) input # str, the string to be parsed. (Most likely $0.) # sep, the separator between the values. # #... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhaskarjha178
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Reading from a file(passing the file as input parameter)

hi I have a shell script say primary.sh . There is a file called params my scenario is primary.sh should read all the values and echo it for example i should pass like $primary.sh params output would be Abc ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssuresh1999
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

redirecting output retaining the input

Hi Guys, I am trying to redirect output from a file to another file while retaining the contents of the input file. For ex: cat /tmp/Out1.cfg > test.txt Now, test.txt would contain the value of Out1.cfg.,ie say for ex "12" What i require is to have the value as "/tmp/Out1.cfg 12" in the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiran1112
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting