Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Looping a flat file and loading data Post 302752913 by Reese coutinho on Monday 7th of January 2013 06:09:45 PM
Old 01-07-2013
Looping a flat file and loading data

Hi, I am very new to UNIX environment. And I am stuck in this problem.

In my Unix server, I have a file called "tablelist.txt" which gives me a list of the tables in my oracle database like shown below.

bmp.table1
bmp.table2
bmp.table3
:
:
bmp.table20

All these tables have 'batch_id' column.

Now i need a Unix script which will loop through each line of tablelist file. and extract the data from each table for that batch_id and load into separate files.

At the end of the process, i should have 300 files which has records of 300 tables.

Note: I am using SQLPLUS In Unix server.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Data Positioning from Columns in a flat file.

Hi All, I have used this forum many times to solve my many scripting problems. This time, I would like to seek some answers to a problem that I've been head scratching quite a bit on. My Example: I am converting a 2000-byte file into a 300-byte file this file has no delimiters and hardly any... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: oott1
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix script for loading a data from a file into database

Hi All, I am trying to load a data from a files in a particular directory to a database.. cd $SCC isql metdb >> ${LOGDATA}/LOAD.LOG < ! load from "${LDATA}/${FORM}.ld" insert into $LOADTABLE ! But it's showing the error "syntax error at line 46 : `<<' unmatched" Can u plz help me... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: grajesh_955
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loading Oracle data to unix in flat file

Hi I would like to know how to load oracle data to unix flat file using a shell script. Can we use sqlldr to import data from oracle, if so can anyone help me with it. (2 Replies)