Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Manipulating a list into a two-dimensional array Post 302740685 by mingy10 on Thursday 6th of December 2012 03:04:17 PM
Old 12-06-2012
Manipulating a list into a two-dimensional array

hi,
total newbie to shell scripting and wondering if some of you guru's can give me a hand on a problem I'm trying to solve.

The tmplsnr.a file contains

Code:
LSNR_51526
db1
db2
LSNR_51527
db3
db4
db5

Summary - depending on which db is set, the script will start the relevant listener (LSNR_). e.g if db5 is set then the script will start the LSNR_51527 listener.

I was thinking the best way maybe to put this information into an array and then search the array.

I want to read the above file into a two dimensional array and the array to looks like this so that I can search the corresponding LSNR for the db.
Code:
LSNR_51526,db1
LSNR_51526,db2
LSNR_51527,db3
LSNR_51527,db4
LSNR_51527,db5

How would I search the array for the listener (LSNR_51527) which relates to db5 ?

Would this method work or have I over complicated things or is there a much simpler method in korn scripting.

I would appreciate any feedback or help

Many Thanks in Advance

Last edited by mingy10; 12-06-2012 at 04:13 PM.. Reason: Please wrap data and sripts with CodeTags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reference two dimensional array in Perl sub

I am trying to reference a two dimensional array in a subroutine and can't seem to figure this one out in Perl. Does anybody know? Please enlighten me. #!/usr/bin/perl -w use constant DIM => 4; sub Shift_elements_right{ my (@Input, @Output) = @_; for ($i = 0 ; $i <= DIM ;... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: photon
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help for record (2 dimensional array.)