Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grep multiple terms and output to individual files Post 302698779 by ivpz on Monday 10th of September 2012 01:50:39 PM
Old 09-10-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by msabhi
Can you be more specific with some examples...
For example, the following are the term in my list file:

LR30F04
LW36F03
PI21M21

And I'll like to grep all lines containing LR30F04 into file1.txt, LW36F03 into file2.txt, etc...

Thank you.

---------- Post updated at 12:50 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pamu
Try with while loop.
Can you elaborate? Sorry, I'm a biologist trying to do some data manipulation here.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grepping multiple terms with different arguments

Grep -e 'term1' -A1 -e 'term2' -A3The above code always searches for either term and prints results + next three lines. I'm trying to print out: foo foo foo term1 bar bar bar line right after the above -- la la la la term2 so so so line right after the above and again and again I've... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dkozel
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using AWK: Extract data from multiple files and output to multiple new files

Hi, I'd like to process multiple files. For example: file1.txt file2.txt file3.txt Each file contains several lines of data. I want to extract a piece of data and output it to a new file. file1.txt ----> newfile1.txt file2.txt ----> newfile2.txt file3.txt ----> newfile3.txt Here is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Liverpaul09
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting a file in to multiple files and passing each individual file to a command