Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sorting group information for accounts Post 302681657 by neutronscott on Friday 3rd of August 2012 07:22:02 PM
Old 08-03-2012
Sounds like a user management nightmare. Maybe they should use some sort of central authentication server.

The modification you described for changing 4 to 11, and getent to cat group are both correct. But in the case of cat group, you could just use while ((getline < "group_file") > 0)

the "it doesn't exist error" is because a user had a GID that the group_file doesn't... the ones it has will still be correct.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Getting information from /etc/group

How can I retrieve the group id of an entry in the /etc/group file given the group name? I tried using cut and grep but cant get around the problem.. I think this problem can be solved using these commands but I dont know how (I am a newbie at this) (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: sleepster
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Group on the basis of common text in the square bracket and sorting

File A 99 >ac >ss >juk 70 >acb >defa 90 >ca 100 >aa >abc >bca 85 >cde 81 >ghi >ghij 87 >def >fgh <ijk 89 >fck >ghij >kill >aa The given output shud be 100 >aa >abc >bca 87 >def >fgh <ijk 89 >fck >ghij >kill >aa (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cdfd123
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting a list of filenames but keeping the path information.

Hi All I've googled around for this and can't see a way of doing it. I have a file that contains a number of records that are layed out something like the following. /path/to/directory/that/contains/a/file/I/need/filename.pdf The path itself can vary both in terms of the names and the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bashingaway
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

need a one liner to grep a group info from /etc/group and use that result to search passwd file