Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting search & merg data from 3 files Post 302635775 by Scrutinizer on Sunday 6th of May 2012 07:48:41 AM
Old 05-06-2012
I had changed depth to mag in the mean time (col 6 instead of col 5) plus an extra if the line is empty which should get rid of the empty lines..

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 05-06-2012 at 09:42 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to Scrutinizer For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merg files

i have: file1 contains: 123abc file2 contains: 123 abc i used: paste file1 file2 > file3, and the output looks like this: 123abc 123 abc i used: cat file3 | awk '{print $1, $2}' > file4, result: 123abc 123 my intention is to get file looks like this: 123abc123 abc when i... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: tjmannonline
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with complex merg of files with common field

Please help, I am new to shell Programming. I have three files each containg a unique text (key) field (e.g. ABCDEF, XCDUD as shown below), line return followed by some data of which there can be more then one instance. In addition, in some cases there may be no data but only a key field. Please... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: gugs
18 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Search for & edit rows & columns in data file and pipe

Dear unix gurus, I have a data file with header information about a subject and also 3 columns of n rows of data on various items he owns. The data file looks something like this: adam peter blah blah blah blah blah blah car 01 30 200 02 31 400 03 57 121 .. .. .. .. .. .. n y... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: tintin72
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to search & compare paragraphs between two files