Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Having trouble with a few beginner csh scripts Post 302612435 by balajesuri on Monday 26th of March 2012 12:33:20 AM
Old 03-26-2012
1. Try using switch-case.
2. To return back to main menu, put the whole thing in an infinite while-loop with an additional case to exit from loop.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Please help. I am a beginner.

Alrigt, I need to write a shell script where it counts the number of folders and files and dispays "My home directory has 'x' files and 'y' directories." So, I was thinking of doing this. set x = `ls | wc` so, if I have 8 files and folders in my home directory, x is not 8. now, I was... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Lykathea Aflame
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh failing to call an 2 embedded csh script

I have an extraordinary problem with a csh script.....(feel free to berate the use of this but I'm modifying an existing bunch of them) Anyway, I have a master csh script which in turn calls a second csh script. This second csh script is below. Within this second script are two compiled C++... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pollsizer
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternate to set -x in csh scripts

hi all i want to debug a csh script and i give set -x for that but i get an error. is there any command similar to set -x for csh scripts? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sais
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing the Bash Scripts to Bourne Scripts:URGENT

Hi, I have to write a program to compute the checksums of files ./script.sh I wrote the program using bash and it took me forever since I am a beginner but it works very well. I'm getting so close to the deadline and I realised today that actually I have to use normal Bourne shell... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pgarg1989
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Beginner looking for help