Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Simple archiving
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Simple archiving Post 302612057 by pernuntium on Saturday 24th of March 2012 11:52:32 AM
Old 03-24-2012
Simple archiving

Hi,

I am a UNIX novice and was trying to write a bash script that would read two parameters, $1 would be the archive file path where the archiving path is passed, so the archiving script will write to this file path. The second parameter will be the directory path to the library which will contain the files to be archived. For this exercise I am using James Goseling's archiving script:
Code:
for i do
  echo"echo x-$i"
  echo"cat>$i<<'Stop!Here!'"
  cat $i
  echo"Stop!Here!"
done

I know that I will have to call this script recursively if I am to use it as a function and pass on to it the above mentioned parameters, but I don't know how to do it recursively. Could anyone please give me a hint?
Thank you!

I am running into a new problem, namely I am getting : line 32: syntax error: unexpected end of file
I have modified the original code to:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

NONE='\033[0m'
RED='\033[0;31m'
GREEN='\033[0;32m'
YELLOW='\033[0;33m'

#alias chdir="cd $2"

if (( $# != 2 ))
  then
  printf "${RED}Error: There should be exactly two command-line arguments.\n${NONE}"
  read junk
fi

#cd "$2"

chmod 700 $1
function archive {

echo "echo x - $i"
   echo "cat>$i<<'Stop!Here!'"
   cat $i
   echo "Stop!Here!" }

for i do
    archive ./$2 * > ./$1
done

Can anyone please help me understand why I am getting this error.
Thank you

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment How to use code tags when posting data and code samples.

Last edited by pernuntium; 03-26-2012 at 03:58 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples, thank you

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Archiving