Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Problem with simple csh scripting Post 302582311 by austing5 on Thursday 15th of December 2011 01:11:35 PM
Old 12-15-2011
ah leave the question up!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple scripting question

I am new to scropting and I am just trying to work on a few simple things.... Using sh I want to do something similar to the follwoing run a simple command like a dig then I want it to get the server that it is authorotative and return it to me saying somehting like xx.xx is authorotative. I am... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gennaro
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple Scripting Problem

Hi there, I was trying to add a line of text in the middle line of a file. I have counted the lines in the file, and then I divide it into 2, after that I am stuck on how am I suppose to append the line on that file? When I tried to use this command 'second line >> filename' it appends it at... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: felixwhoals
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

a simple loop in csh

Hello, I have a file with over 48000 lines and I need to select certain parts of the file. I know which awk commands work for what I need, I just need some help putting together a loop that will repeat the command. These are the commands that work: awk 'NR < 6' plot.out > plot.test (I get... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dsstamps
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple CSH Script behaves differently on Solaris and RedHat Linux

I have a simple csh-script on a Solaris Workstaion which invokes the bc calculator: #!/bin/csh set shz=2 set zshift=5 set shzp=`bc -l <<END \ scale = 3 \ -1. * $shz + $zshift \ END` echo $shzp The result ($shzp) in this case is 3 (-1*2+5). It works fine on Solaris 8. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: two reelers
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple CSH script