Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris basic questions on ifconfig -a Post 302579121 by dude2cool on Sunday 4th of December 2011 10:40:13 PM
Old 12-04-2011
man ifconfig:

Quote:
index n

Change the interface index for the interface. The value of n must be an interface index (if_index) that is not used on another interface. if_index will be a non-zero positive number that uniquely identifies the network interface on the system.
https://www.unix.com/man-page/OpenSolaris/1m/ifconfig/

Last edited by dude2cool; 12-04-2011 at 11:45 PM..

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Slackware

Basic networking questions.

Hey, I'm new to Linux. I have a few questions about it. I run Slackware. After the installation the Linux installation had problems with my old hardware (network card, sound card) so I removed them and Linux would start. But now, I can't seem to use the network card in Linux because it's not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RellioN
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic Unix Questions

OK, here's a question from a true UNIX newb: How does one make a 20 line file? I'm lost. :confused: OK, I figured it out. :D (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kitchen Zinc
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Some basic questions

Hi- Newbie here with some basic questions: 1) I can't get alias to work. I tried alias ll='ls -al', but it doesn't work. When just typing 'alias', the new definition doesn't appear. I'm in a bash shell -- is that the problem. I tried switching to csh, but that didn't seem to help. This... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aworstell
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic security questions