Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help with untarring multiple files from tarred directories and subdirectories Post 302575460 by rv_trojan on Monday 21st of November 2011 08:50:08 PM
Old 11-21-2011
Hi jim,

Thanks for the response.
What I believe is tar can use wildcard * but you are right it cannot untar file from inside the other compressed tar files.

I came up with solution where the directories Log_files/subject1/project* all are already created and it works with

tar -zxvf Log_flies/subject1.tar.gz Log_files/subject1/project*/*.log

However is there any way wherein the directories are created when I untar it and I dont need to make the directories manually.

Thanks,
rv

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sftp multiple files and subdirectories

Hi, I'm new to using the sftp command prompt within the unix shell (usually I just use an FTP windows program). I've successfully connected to a remote server from within ssh. I've also been able to copy multiple files using the mget command e.g. mget *.html How do I copy all files,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: robbieg
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Remove Ctrl M characters in files from directories and its subdirectories

Hi, How to recursively remove Ctrl M characters in files from a directory and its sub directory ? I know unix2dos command is there but to remove in bunch of files ... ? Thanks (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: skdp
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Tarred files not being put on tape

Hi I normally backup to tape using the following command in Solaris 9 on SUN Enterprise 3500 server: tar cvf /dev/rmt/0n data but after a power cut, the server went down without being shutdown since the UPS failed. Now when I issue the tar command I get the root (/) being full looks like it... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rahmantanko
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting