Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace Filename and text inside of directory Post 302570896 by Corona688 on Friday 4th of November 2011 03:18:33 PM
Old 11-04-2011
Code:
OLDDATE=20111114
NEWDATE=yyyymmdd

for DIR in DIR-"${OLDDATE}"-*
do
        sed "s/${OLDDATE}/${NEWDATE}/g" < "${DIR}/config.xml" > "${DIR}/config.xml.new"
        #cat "${DIR}/config.xml.new" > "${DIR}/config.xml"
        # rm "${DIR}/config.xml.new"
        echo mv "${DIR}" "${DIR/${OLDDATE}/${NEWDATE}}"    
done

Remove the #'s and echoes once you've checked the output and the content of the config.xml.new files to make sure it's really done what you want.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Replacing text inside a directory

This is my first post to this group.I am new to Unix.I have one requirement I need to replace a text in all the files in a directory and sub-directory.Eg i have a folder structure like /usr/local/abc , inside abc i have several directories and several files. All the files inside abc and all the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vatsan
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to replace a text inside a file based on a xml key

<c-param> <param-name>Number</param-name> <param-value>22</param-value> <description>my house number</description> </c-param> <c-param> <param-name>Address</param-name> ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: reldb
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed , Replace a "variable text" inside of a statement

Please Help... I am trying to manipulte the following line Before : <user:Account_Password>002786</user:Account_Password> the password is the "variable", i need to delete / omit the password in the file, (it occurs several thousand times) so the tag line looks like After:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jackn7
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace text with filename